DeSoto Central’s Kendal Lewis voted SBLive’s Mississippi High School Boys Basketball Player of the Week

Congratulations to DeSoto Central senior Kendal Lewis for being voted SBLive’s Mississippi High School Boys Basketball Player of the Week for Feb. 8-14!

Lewis nailed the go-ahead 3-pointer with 16 seconds left in the game to lift DeSoto to a 66-65 win over Lewisburg in the Region 1-6A consolation game.

Lewis received 39.74% of the vote, beating out Lake Cormorant’s Donovan Sanders, who finished with 34.44%. Smithville’s Khirei Standifer finished third with 12.27%. There were over 65,621 votes tallied this week!

If you would like to nominate an athlete, please email or tag us on Twitter or Instagram at @sblivems.

Here are the other athletes who were nominated for Feb. 8-14:

Braxton Bishop, Tupelo: Bishop was named Division MVP after leading Tupelo to a 72-52 win over Olive Branch in the Region 1-6A Championship.

Rashad Bolden, St. Andrew’s: Bolden dropped 37 points to lead St. Andrew’s to an 87-60 win over Yazoo County in the Region 6-3A Championship.

Gavin Brinker, Pontotoc: Brinker scored 26 points and pulled down 10 rebounds to lead Pontotoc to a 70-53 win over Shannon in the Region 2-4A Championship.

Devin Carter, Florence: Carter had 34 points, 7 rebounds and 6 assists in Florence’s 62-48 win over Mendenhall on Friday.

John Davis, Pascagoula: Davis drilled the game-winning 3-pointer at the buzzer to give Pascagoula a 37-34 win over Wayne County.

Zandon Haralson, Center Hill: Haralson scored 32 points in Center Hill’s 58-56 OT loss to Lake Cormorant.

Jordan Hibbler, Southaven: Hibbler scored 16 points to lead Southaven to a 60-38 win over Oxford in the Region 2-6A Championship.

Josh Hubbard, MRA: Hubbard scored 28 points to lead MRA to a 77-69 win over Jackson Academy.

Phillip Hughes, MRA: Hughes scored 24 points in MRA’s 77-69 win over Jackson Academy.

Marquavous Jones, Holly Springs: Jones scored 23 points in the Hawks’ 89-80 double OT loss to Senatobia.

Dylan King, Holly Springs: King scored 23 points in the Hawks’ 89-80 double OT loss to Senatobia.

Eli Lamb, Lewisburg: Lamb scored 20 points in Lewisburg’s last-second 56-55 loss to DeSoto Central in the Region 1-6A consolation game. 

D.J. McKnight, Lake Cormorant: McKnight filled up the stat sheet with 8 points, 10 rebounds and 2 blocks in Lake Cormorant’s 58-56 overtime win over Center Hill in the Region 1-5A Championship. McKnight’s 2 blocks have him the school record for career blocked shots.

Tyler Oehrli, West Jones: Trailing Laurel 54-52 with one second left on the clock, the West Jones High School boys basketball team needed a miracle Friday night. And they got one. Oehrli took the inbounds pass in the backcourt, turned and fired a shot from the volleyball line – approximately 50 feet from the basket. It banked in at the buzzer, giving West Jones a 55-54 win and setting off a wild celebration.

Duran Parrish, Biloxi: Parrish was named MVP of Region 7 after scoring 18 points to lead Biloxi over D’Iberville in the Region title game.

Donovan Sanders, Lake Cormorant: Sanders scored 18 points – including 5 in overtime – to lead Lake Cormorant to a 58-56 overtime win over Center Hill in the Region 1-5A Championship.

Tyson Smithey, Ingomar: Smithey exploded for 34 points and 21 rebounds to lead Ingomar over Smithville in the Div. 2-1A Tournament championship.

Isaiah Spencer, Madison Central: Spencer scored 17 points and pulled down 6 rebounds in the Jaguars’ 61-51 loss to Clinton.

Khirei Standifer, Smithville: Standifer scored 28 points in Smithville’s 79-69 loss to Ingomar in the Div. 2-1A championship.

Carlous Williams, Harrison Central: Williams scored 15 points and pulled down 11 rebounds to lead Harrison Central to a 57-44 win over Gulfport in the Region 8 Championship.

Thank you for joining the discussion on SBLive!

%d bloggers like this: