2020 Mr. Football award winners announced for Mississippi

The Mississippi Association of Coaches has announced the 2020 winners of the Mr. Football awards for each classification in Mississippi.

The six winners were chosen by a panel of coaches from each classification and members of the media from across the state.

Here’s a list of the 2020 honorees:

1A – Robert Henry, RB, Lumberton

Robert Henry Lumberton
(Photo by Keith Warren)

Henry, a senior running back/quarterback, has rushed for 1,440 yards, passed for 419 yards and accounted for 27 touchdowns for Lumberton (8-1). Henry was Class 1A Mr. Football in 2019.

2A – Ty Keyes, QB, Taylorsville

Ty Keyes Taylorsville
(Photo by Keith Warren)

Keyes, a senior quarterback, has completed 84 of 132 passes for 1,552 yards with 16 TDs and 3 interceptions for Taylorsville (8-1). Keyes was Class 2A Mr. Football in 2018 and 2019.

3A – Chandler Pittman, QB, Magee

Pittman, a senior quarterback, has passed for 1,496 yards and rushed for 682 yards and accounted for 26 TDs for Magee (8-0).

4A – Ty Cooper, DL, Louisville

Cooper, a senior defensive end, has 9 quarterback sacks, 2 QB hurries and 2 fumble recoveries for Louisville (9-1).

5A – Jarquez Hunter, RB/DB, Neshoba Central

(Photo by Keith Warren)

Hunter, a senior running back, has accounted for 1,767 yards and scored 22 touchdowns for Neshoba Central (8-1).

6A – Justin Walley, RB/DB, D’Iberville

Walley, a senior wide receiver/defensive back, accounted for 1,200 all-purpose yards, 14 TDs, 2 interceptions and 2 blocked kicks for the Warriors (9-0).

In a normal year, the honorees would all be honored at a banquet hosted by the New Orleans Saints. Due to COVID-19 the committee decided to award each of the winners at ceremonies to be held on-campus at each of the schools. Preparations for those events are ongoing with dates and times yet to be determined.

Congratulations to all the Mr. Football Award winners for 2020.

Thank you for joining the discussion on SBLive!

%d bloggers like this: