SBLive’s 2021 all-state Florida high school football award winners

Last month, eight Florida high school football state champions were crowned over a two-week stretch across two different sites.

Now it’s time to hand out some awards. Here are SBLive’s 2021 Florida high school football all-state awards, including players of the year for every classification. The awards were compiled by Ross Van De Griek.

Offensive Player of the Year: Ryan Browne, QB, Venice
(Photo by Matthew Christopher)

Browne came to Venice from Sarasota Riverview last summer and led the Indians to their third state title in school history, and first since 2017.

Browne’s 2021 stats: 60.3% completion rate, 2,636 passing yards, 31 touchdown passes and 7 interceptions

Other offensive player of the year candidates: Gulliver Prep quarterback Carson Haggard; Champagnat Catholic quarterback Ennio Yapoor; Lake Gibson running back Jaylon Glover; Cocoa running back OJ Ross.

Defensive Player of the Year: Francois Nolton, DE, Miami Edison

Nolton finished tied for second in the state in sacks (25.0), as well as racking up 111 total tackles, and 5 forced fumbles. Nolton led the Raiders to a regional final berth, where they lost to eventual Class 3A champion Chaminade-Madonna.

Other defensive player of the year candidates: Nease linebacker Ben Bogle; Cocoa linebacker Samadrae Hawkins; Jesuit linebacker AJ Cottrill; Andrew Jackson defensive end Grayson Howard

Wide Receiver of the Year: Dom Henry, Nease

Henry was the top receiver in the state of Florida as far as receiving yards (1,590), averaging 122.3 yards per game. Henry finished with 14 total touchdowns (13 receiving, 1 rushing) leading the Panthers to a 9-4 record in 2021, before losing to Buchholz (Gainesville) in the regional final.

Henry’s 2021 receiving stats: 81 receptions, 1,590 yards, 13 touchdowns

Henry’s 2021 rushing stats: 14 carries, 65 yards, 1 touchdown

Other wide receiver of the year nominees: Clearwater wide receiver CJ Lee; Western (Davie) wide receiver Julian Lewi; South Walton wide receiver/tight end Pearce Spurlin; Cocoa wide receiver Jmariyae Robinson

Two-Way Player of the Year: Terrell Crosby, WR/DB, Lakewood

Crosby is heading to Iowa State University where he will join multiple Tampa Bay area prospects, including Wiregrass Ranch quarterback Rocco Becht, Tampa Bay Tech wide receiver Greg Gaines and Berkeley Prep running back Xavier Townsend.

Crosby’s 2021 offensive stats: 55 receptions, 818 receiving yards, 10 touchdowns

Crosby’s 2021 defensive stats: 55 total tackles, 10 interceptions

Other two-way player of the year nominees: Dade Christian athlete Rayquan Adkins; Lake Wales athlete Courtney Brown; Dunnellon athlete LJ Fitzpatrick

Breakout Player of the Year: OJ Ross, RB, Cocoa
(Photo by Matthew Christopher)

If you didn’t know the name OJ Ross from Cocoa High School before the season, you should know him by now. “Ross is a generational type of talent at such a young age,” Cocoa head coach Ryan Schneider said following their state-championship game vs. Cardinal Gibbons last month.

Ross’ 2021 stats: 253 carries, 1,883 rushing yards (7.4 yards per carry), 37 touchdowns.

Other breakout player of the year nominees: Lake Gibson running back Jaylon Glover; Treasure Coast running back Eden James; Baker running back Kayleb Wagner; Chaminade-Madonna running back Davion Gause

Newcomer of the Year: Ennio Yapoor, QB, Champagnat Catholic
(Photo courtesy of Josh Baer)

One year ago, Champagnat Catholic quarterback Ennio Yapoor was an eighth grader playing in the backup quarterback role to Tyous Taylor who led the Lions to their fourth state title in 2020.

This season, Yapoor was the starting quarterback and finished the season with 3,830 total yards (3,300 passing, 530 rushing) and 37 total touchdowns (26 passing, 11 rushing). The Lions finished the 2021 season with a 10-3 record and lost to Trinity Christian Academy in the state championship game last month.

Other newcomer of the year nominees: Trinity Christian Academy (Jacksonville) quarterback Colin Hurley; Bishop Verot quarterback Carter Smith; South Sumter linebacker Malachi Boone; South Sumter defensive back George Mullins; Somerset Academy defensive back Zachary Clark Jr.

Coach of the Year: Matt Thompson, Jesuit (Tampa)
(Photo by Matthew Christopher)

Jesuit High School’s football program was not only nationally ranked for the entire season, but the Tigers also won their first state championship in 53 years, defeating Pine Forest 35-29. 

Matt Thompson led the Tigers to impressive wins over nationally ranked St. Thomas Aquinas in September and Tampa Catholic for the 22nd year in a row in November.

Other coach of the year nominees: Dameon Jones (Chaminade-Madonna); Dominic Ciao (Berkeley Prep); Jayson Roberts (Tampa Bay Tech); Roger Harriott (St. Thomas Aquinas); Ronnie Douglas (Pine Forest); Matthew DuBuc (Cardinal Gibbons)


1A Player of the Year: Amari Jones, QB, Bradford

1A Coach of the Year: Mike Coe (Madison County)


2A Player of the Year: Treyaun Webb, RB, Trinity Christian Academy (Jacksonville)

2A Coach of the Year: Hector Clavijo (Champagnat Catholic)


3A Player of the Year: Kenyatta Jackson, DE, Chaminade-Madonna

3A Coach of the Year: Dominic Ciao (Berkeley Prep)


4A Player of the Year: OJ Ross, RB, Cocoa

4A Coach of the Year: Matthew DuBuc (Cardinal Gibbons)


5A Player of the Year: Orlando Holland, DE, Baker County

5A Coach of the Year: Roland Smith (Miami Central)


6A Player of the Year: Joquez Smith, RB, Jesuit (Tampa)

6A Coach of the Year: Matt Thompson (Jesuit)


7A Player of the Year: Zion Turner, QB, St. Thomas Aquinas

7A Coach of the Year: Jayson Roberts (Tampa Bay Tech)


8A Player of the Year: Ryan Browne, QB, Venice

8A Coach of the Year: John Peacock (Venice)

Thank you for joining the discussion on SBLive!

%d bloggers like this: