NFHS California Coach of the Year nominations from CIF’s San Diego Section

The CIF State Office recently announced the Section nominees for the NFHS California Coach of the Year award for the 2019-20 school year.

“The coaches were selected based on the positive work they have done with the student-athletes in their respective sports programs,” per a CIF press release.

SBLive is taking a closer look at the nominees from each of the state’s 10 Sections. Here are the nominees from the San Diego Section:

Hugo Estrada – Calexico – Boys Basketball

Estrada coached the Bulldogs to the D4 San Diego Section Championship in 2019-20, their first in the 118-year history of the school.

Sade Wiley-Gatewood – Serra – Girls Basketball

Wiley-Gatewood helped the Connquistadors to a victory over San Diego Section power Mission Hills in the D1 Championship, a year after losing to the Grizzlies by 62 points during the regular season.

Tialoc Venancio – Crawford – Boys Cross Country

Venancio led the Colts to the San Diego Section D4 title in 2019.

Robert Muscheck – Sage Creek – Girls Cross Country

Muscheck helped the Bobcats to their third consecutive D4 Cross Country championship.

Tyler Roach – La Jolla – Football

Roach led the Vikings to a win over previously undefeated Scripps Ranch to capture the D3 championship, their first section title since 1993.

Richard Deem – Rancho Bernardo – Girls Golf

Deem coached the Broncos to the D1 championship, their third consecutive section title.

Joaquin Huertero – Helix – Boys Soccer

Huertero helped the Highlanders to the D2 section championship and a berth in the SoCal Regional playoffs. It was the Highlander’s first championship since 1983.

Wayne Brewton – Otay Ranch – Girls Soccer

Brewton coached the Mustangs to a 3-2 victory over La Jolla Country Day in the D3 section championship, the first title in school history.

Erik Hur – Olympian – Girls Tennis

Hur led the Eagles to the D3 section championship in his first year, taking down Otay Ranch in the finals via tiebreaker.

Cheley Strahm – Holtville – Girls Volleyball

Strahm led the Vikings to the D4 section championship, the school’s first since 1994, by taking down High Tech High Chula Vista in five sets in the championship.

Thank you for joining the discussion on SBLive!

%d bloggers like this: