Which San Diego Section high school baseball coaches have won the most section titles?

From Sam Blalock to David Glassey (pictured above), the San Diego Section is filled with high school baseball coaches who have won hundreds of games. Here’s a look at the 11 coaches — both active and retired — who have won the most CIF San Diego Section baseball titles.


1. Sam Blalock – Mt. Carmel/Rancho Bernardo – 11

Blalock won his first four championships at the 3A level during his 16 seasons at Mt. Carmel. After becoming the first baseball coach in Rancho Bernardo High School history, Blalock won seven more championships over 27 seasons. He retired in 2017 after winning a San Diego Section record 946 games.

2 (tie). David Glassey – Francis Parker – 8

Glassey won his first title with the Lancers at the 1A level in 1975 and added seven more championships before he retired after falling short to Mission Hills in the 2018 division two championship.

2 (tie). Dennis Pugh – Mission Bay – 8

Pugh won his first title with the Buccaneers in 1986 and won three straight in division two from 1995-97. He won his eighth and final title at the division three level in 2004. Pugh died in May at the age of 73.

Dennis Pugh

2 (tie). Gary Remiker – USDHS/Cathedral Catholic – 8

Remiker won his first three titles at Uni in 2001, 2003, and 2005. After the school changed locations, Remiker led the Dons to back-to-back titles in 2008-09 and 2011-12. His most recent title came in the open division in 2016.

3. Rob Phillips – Grossmont – 6

Phillips won six championships during his 12 seasons at Grossmont. His first came in 1997 and he won four straight from 2005-08.

Rob Phillips

4 (tie). Ed Johnson – Marian Catholic – 4

Johnson won four titles for the Crusaders over a five-year span. He won the division three titles in 1998 and 1999 before moving to division four and winning in 2000 and 2002.

4 (tie). Mike Mitchell – Christian – 4

Mitchell has won four titles for the Patriots over his two-plus decades as the head coach. He’s won division three titles in 1997 and 2015, with two division four titles coming in 2003 and 2009.

4 (tie). Bob Parry – Poway – 4

Parry has led a resurgence at Poway since taking over as the head coach in 1996. He led the Titans to division one championships in 2006, 2008, 2009, and 2015 and has been on the losing end of back-to-back open division championship games in 2018 and 2019.

4 (tie). Bill Sandback – Crawford – 4

Sandback led the Colts for eight seasons from 1962-69, reaching seven championship games and winning four of them. Major League Baseball All-Star’s Bob Boone, Dave Duncan, and Ed Herrmann were among the notable players that Sandback coached at Crawford.

4 (tie). Dick Serrano – USDHS – 4

Serrano won his first title for the Dons in 1972 and added three more in 1978, 1980, and 1981. He retired with 549 wins and coached the likes of Barry Zito, Mark Prior, and Carlos Quentin during his tenure.

4 (tie). Steve Vickery – El Capitan – 4

Vickery retired as the Vaqueros head coach in 2012 after 33 seasons. He finished with 647 career win and won back-to-back CIF championships in 2003-04 and 2009-2010.

Thank you for joining the discussion on SBLive!

%d bloggers like this: