NFHS California Coach of the Year nominations from CIF’s Central Section

The CIF State Office announced the Section nominees for the NFHS California Coach of the Year award for the 2019-20 school year on Thursday.

“The coaches were selected based on the positive work they have done with the student-athletes in their respective sports programs,” per a CIF press release.

SBLive will take a closer look at the nominees from each of the state’s 10 Sections over the next few days. Here are the nominees from the Central Section:

Michael Garza – Highland – Baseball

Garza led Highland to a 29-2 record and a D-III Section title in 2019. The Scots’ 2020 season was cut short after just nine games.

Ryan Glanville – Arroyo Grande – Boys Basketball

Glanville led Arroyo Grande to the CIF State Division III championship game. Arroyo Grande fell in the semifinals of the Central Section Open Division playoffs.

Amy Bush – Sierra Pacific – Girls Basketball

Bush led Sierra Pacific to the CIF State Division IV championship game in 2020. The Golden Bears fell in the Division 4 Central Section championship game on Feb. 29 against Caruthers.

Paul Contreras – Foothill – Girls Cross Country

With Contreras at the helm, Foothill was the seventh ranked Division 3 Central Section girls cross country team in Week 9 of 2019.

Ivan Huff – Paso Robles – Boys Cross Country

Under the direction of Huff, Paso Robles was a Top 10 boys cross country team in the Section in 2019.

Jeromy Blackwell – Strathmore – Football

Blackwell guided Strathmore to the Division V Central Section semifinals in 2019.

Bill Jensen – Kingsburg – Boys Golf

Jensen coaches both golf programs at Kingsburg. He led the girls golf team to a Central Sequoia League championship.

Ken Shipley – Clovis West – Girls Golf

Clovis West won its seventh straight Valley title in 2019.

Tim Carey – Hoover – Girls Lacrosse

Carey’s group had great team chemistry, but their season was cut short due to COVID-19.

Michael Jordan – Farmersville – Boys Soccer

Farmersville made the Central Section Division 5 title game in 2019.

Darin Lasky – Exeter – Girls Soccer

Lasky led Exeter into the second round of the Division 4 Central Section playoffs in 2019.

Mike Noel – Clovis – Softball

Under Noel, Clovis was 7-1 before the remainder of the softball season was canceled.

Britney Audino – Tulare Union – Spirit

Audino led Tulare Union to the “Super Bowl of Cheerleading” in 2020. Tulare Union won the 2020 UCA National High School Cheerleading Championship.

Dave Hodge – Tulare Western – Boys Swim & Dive

Hodge has coached for 27 years at Tulare Western. He also coaches water polo at the school.

Karyn Klatt – Sunnyside – Girls Swim & Dive

(Klatt is pictured in the featured photo at the top of the story.)

Ken Peet – San Luis Obispo – Boys Tennis

San Luis Obispo hadn’t dropped a set in 2020 before the boys tennis season was cut short.

Jeremy Warkentin – Sanger – Girls Tennis

Warkentin led Sanger to a Central Section DII Championship in 2019.

Ryan Renz – Liberty (Bakersfield) – Boys Track & Field

Renz was named the 2019 All-Area Girls Track and Field Coach of the Year. He’s a respected coach who also leads the boys team.

Brian Weaver – Buchanan – Girls Track & Field

Weaver led Buchanan to a girls cross country state title in 2019.

Maria Collatz – Stockdale – Girls Volleyball

Collatz led Stockdale to the Division 2 Central Section championship game in 2019.

Sam Lopez – Selma – Boys Wrestling

Lopez has built a great wrestling program at Selma.

Thank you for joining the discussion on SBLive!

%d bloggers like this: