No. 2 Trevor Ariza vs. No. 1 Tyson Chandler: Vote for the best SoCal high school boys basketball player of the 21st Century (Elite Eight)

Who is the best high school boys basketball player in Southern California over the past 20 years? Over the next few days we’ll give you a chance to decide.

Our 32-player bracket tipped off last week with first-round matchups in all four regions: the Ed Azzam region, the Gary McKnight region, the Harvey Kitani region and the NBA region. Sweet 16 voting wrapped up on Tuesday.

We now move into the Elite Eight.

In the Ed Azzam region, overall top seed Tyson Chandler from Dominguez takes on Trevor Ariza, a two seed out of Westchester to start the Elite Eight.

(2) Trevor Ariza, Westchester HS

In 2003, Ariza led Westchester to the CIF State Division I State title, a 32-3 overall record and a No. 5 USA Today national prep ranking (No. 2 in the West). In the 2002 state title game, a 73-63 Westchester victory over Oakland Tech, Ariza scored 21 of his 30 points in the final 16 minutes of the game, to go along with eight rebounds, four steals and three assists. As a senior, Ariza averaged 21.0 points, 14.0 rebounds, 9.0 assists and 3.0 blocked shots and steals per game. He was named the Cal-HiSports Mr. Basketball State Player of the Year, the Los Angeles Times Boys’ Basketball Player of the Year, Los Angeles City Player of the Year and first-team All-CIF in 2003. Ariza won four City titles in his four years at Westchester. He played one season at UCLA before going to the NBA. He won an NBA title with the Los Angeles Lakers in 2009.

(Photo by Keith Allison)

(1) Tyson Chandler, Dominguez HS

In his junior year at Compton Dominguez, Chandler averaged 20 points, 12 rebounds, six assists and three blocks per game. In his senior year, Chandler led Dominguez to a state championship and a 31–4 record, averaging 26 points, 15 rebounds, and eight blocks a game. He was a two time state player of the year award winner in 2000 and 2001. Chandler entered the 2001 NBA Draft straight from high school and was picked second overall by the Chicago Bulls. He won an NBA title in 2011 with the Dallas Mavericks. Chandler now plays for the Houston Rockets.

(Photos from Les Schwab Invitational)

Tyson Chandler won 57-45 over Trevor Ariza.


Thank you for joining the discussion on SBLive!

%d bloggers like this: