More Arkansas state cross country champions crowned Friday

By Jeff Halpern | Photos by Tommy Land

Friday saw champions crowned in boys and girls cross country in Classes 5A, 4A and 3A at the Oaklawn Park Infield in Hot Springs.

Lake Hamilton won the boys title with 48 points while Mountain Home won the girls title with 72 points. In 4A, De Queen won the boys title with 78 points while Valley View won the girls title with 35 points. The 3A titles went to Jessieville’s boys with 52 points and Episcopal Collegiate’s girls with 61 points.

The individual champions were Mountain Home’s Andrew Westphal in 5A boys in 15:41.62; Lake Hamilton’s Olivia Pielemeier in the 6A girls in 18:44.61. The 4A champions were Clarksville’s Matthew Dunsworth in 4A with a winning time of 16:34.16 and Gravette’s Julia Whorton in 20:01.45. The 3A champions were from Jessieville. Kaleb Eskew was the boys winner 17:01.58 and Juliah Rodgers was the girls winner in 19:01.42.


Lake Hamilton edged Mountain Home by eight points for the boys team title. Meanwhile Russellville (138), Siloam Springs (170) and Hot Springs Lakeside (187) weren’t even close in the top five.

Lake Hamilton won with four runners in the top seven. Evan Armitage was second in 15:37.32. Nathan Miller was fifth in 16:25.36, Ethan Smith was sixth in 16:26.07 and Zeke McCain was seventh in 16:28.86. Mountain Home had three runners in the top 10. In addition to Westphal, Ky Bickford was third in 16:02.98 and Hendrix Hughes was 10th in 16:36.33.

Joseph Bariola of Hot Springs Lakeside was fourth in 16:09.52.

Mountain Home edged Lakeside 72-74 for the girls team title while Lake Hamilton was third with 92 points. Greenwood was fourth with 150 and Benton was fifth at 174.

Mountain Home had four runners in the top 18. Rylee Patterson was second in 19:00.62. Jordan Ritenburg was ninth in 20:05.76. Bailey Ritenburg was 15th in 20:38.06 and Erin Smith was 18th in 20:53.56.

Lakeside had four runners finish between eighth and 14th, including three freshmen. Junior Whitney Terry was eighth in 20:00.25. The freshmen were Hope Webb, who finished 12th in 20:32.32; Annabell Sarver, who was 13th in 20:35.34 and Maya Hubbard, who finished 14th in 20:36.07.

Aubree Wille of Van Buren (19:27.390, Laina Cota of Sylvan Hills (19:41.79) and Carole Werner of Greenwood (19:44.58) rounded out the top five girls.


De Queen won the boys title by 32 points over Pea Ridge (110). Farmington was third (113), Valley View was fourth (148) and Heber Springs was fifth (205).

De Queen had three runners in the top 12. Juan Maldonado was fifth (17:20.13). Johnny Sanchez was 10th (17:43.02) and Randy Rodriguez was 12th (17:45.40).

Valley View teammates Britt Hawkins (16:45.93) and Coy Morris (17:16.76) were second and third and Grandon Grant of Pea Ridge was fourth (17:17.12).

Valley View’s girls ran away with the team title by 76 points over Harrison and Gravette (111). Pea Ridge was fourth (117) and Shiloh Christian was fifth (118).

Valley View had four runners in the Top 10 led by Elise Knight, who was third (20:15.97) and Kendal Minton, who was fifth (20:29.14). Sophey Pope was eighth (20:44.0) and Emma Jarrett was 10th (20:59.29).

Emelia Erickson of Arkadelphia was second (20:09.20) and Cantley Gosdin of Monticello was fourth (20:26.93).


Jessieville won the boys title by six points over Episcopal Collegiate (58). Green Forest (100), West Fork (110) and Haas Hall Fayetteville (206) were a distant third through fifth.

The Lions won thanks to having four runners in the Top 12. In addition to Eskew, Lawson Wideman was third (17:05.02). Isaac Gass was ninth (17:40.91) and Noah Zetts was 12th (17:56.87). Episcopal had four runners in the top 14. Brolan Griffeth was second (17:03.02) and Owen Lien was fourth (17:18.25). Will Humiston was 13th (18:06.07) and Ramsey Jennings was 14th (18:06.72).

Luis Morales of Centerpoint rounded out the top five (17:25.70).

Episcopal Collegiate won the girls title by six points over Harding Academy (67). West Fork was third (97). Dover was fourth (108) and Elkins was fifth (129).

Episcopal had three runners finish in the top 14. Ella Gary was second (19:13.76), Lauren Humiston was seventh (20:34.42) and Stella Cochran was 14th (21:50.51). Harding had three runners finish between 11th and 17th. Zoe Williamson was 11th (21:25.52). Emily Earley was 13th (21:41.48) and Abi Stone was 17th (22:20.26).

Rounding out the top five were Maddie Cabana of Clinton (20:01.88), Elle Atkins of Mountain View (20:19.00) and Alyssa Rudolph of Perryville (20:25.16).

SBLive Sports is the official digital content partner of the Arkansas Activities Association (AAA).

Thank you for joining the discussion on SBLive!

%d bloggers like this: